top of page

Protective Gear

Protective Gear. In keeping with my frugal theme I was challenged to acquire good quality protective gear. The classic BMW riding jackets and pants can easily run over $1000, my gear cost me around $100 or one tenth the price. Tour Master offers a wide selection of riding jackets and pants for about half the price of the BMW gear. The adventure jackets and pants are designed for adventure touring offering big pockets, rain and weather protection. My ride will be taking me through the deep south as well as the deserts of Arizona and Nevada. Hot weather can be as brutal as cold weather and both must be endured in a cross country trip. I need a set of gear that will do both hot and cold.

The Tour Master Draft Air jacket is exactly that, a jacket that allows air to blow through making it great for hot days while offering protective body armor. The optional zip in liner has a water proof barrier and thermal liner. The jacket with liner kept me dry and warm while riding in below freezing temperatures. One Jacket, two extremes. I chose a pair of the tourmaster jean pants for wet weather and warn weather riding, they also have armor and sturdy codura construction. I paid $39 for the jacket on EBay and $50 for the pants. I could not find a liner for the Draft Air but the liner for the Intake Air, a newer model is available to order on line for around $70.

So I did not spend a thousand bucks on my gear however for a fraction of the cost I have great quality riding gear that will keep me dry and warm on my trip while offering good body armor protection. I did not spend tens of thousands on my bike either and yet I am riding a BMW arguably one of the best adventure touring bikes ever made. My camping gear could of easily ran into the thousands of dollars as well yet I have good quality lightweight weight gear for around $300. I did buy my HJC helmet brand new off the shelf and chose it for fit and comfort as well as the internal flip down sun glasses in addition to the clear shield.

I know there are many critics that will argue the perils of riding in bad weather, the pros and cons of every brand of rain gear but keep in mind that I will always be within an hour of a cozy motel and a Walmart at all times. If the forecast is poor in one area I can always adjust my route.

Remember that this is a post retirement dream, a life of riding adventures that must be accomplished on a fixed retirement budget. My wife has been extremely supportive but she did suggest that I did not incur a bike payment and draining of my savings to prepare for the trip. Since this is a solo trip so I will be riding alone but I want to share the adventure with Teresa so she plans on flying into some of the destinations. My current plan is to drive to the Florida Keys, set up camp then pick up Teresa at the airport.


bottom of page